New College Worcester (NCW), Whittington Road, Worcester, WR5 2JX
01905 763933


Trustee Governors

The Governors of NCW 2019/20

Diana Fulbrook OBE lives in Worcester and spent her career in the probation service, the final 11 years as Chief Executive of a Probation Trust. She has significant experience in strategy, leadership, change management and running an organisation, and enjoys applying this to the field of education. Since retirement she has chaired two safeguarding boards – one for children and one for vulnerable adults, and currently also chairs the Worcestershire Association of Carers Trustee Board.  After being a trustee at NCW, she became Chair of the Governing Body in 2015 and feels it a privilege to be involved in such a special place.
Sue is retired now after 40 years of working in education. She taught in secondary schools in various West Midlands authorities before joining Birmingham local authority as Head of Service taking the strategic lead for raising the educational attainment of children in care. This work provided experience of multi-agency partnership, Residential settings and Safeguarding as well as education across all age groups. Sue has always undertaken voluntary work and has been a trustee of the Baron Davenports charitable trust since 2006 and has recently become a trustee of Music Therapy Works, a charity which provides therapeutic interventions for children and adults using music.
Nicki has been the Principal at NCW for 3 years.  She recognises it as a very special place for young people with a vision impairment and that gaining a place at the College, can be transformational.  Nicki is committed to ensuring all young people who attend NCW are given every opportunity to excel.  Prior to working at NCW, Nicki worked for 27 years in 3 Gloucestershire schools as a PE teacher, Deputy Head and Headteacher.   When not at work, Nicki enjoys following a premiership football team, reading and sport.
Sandy lives in Worcester where she works and has brought up her own three children. She has direct experience of the benefits of specialist education as, in the 1970s, Sandy was educated in a similar school to NCW.  She is the designated Local Authority Governor for NCW. She passionately believes that vision-impaired children and young people are entitled to education which equips them with the skills, knowledge and confidence to lead an active and fulfilled life, and she is proud to support NCW as one of the Trustee Governors.
Rob was educated at Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe and University College Oxford where he studied Modern History and Economics. He qualified as a Chartered Management Accountant in 1985 within the electricity supply industry and spent most of a rich and interesting career with a research company who are world leaders in all aspects of hydraulic engineering.  Rob has extensive experience of all areas of finance, taxation, company law and pensions. By the time of his retirement in 2015 he was solely responsible for the financial affairs of the UK company and its many foreign subsidiaries.
Tracey has worked at NCW for 16 years where she holds two posts.  In her role as Liaison Co-ordinator she works closely with the Marketing team to show potential parents and students what life is like at NCW on a day to day basis.  She works with prospective families to plan and organise an assessment for their child and is then the point of contact for the families whilst they navigate the funding process. She also works as the Learning Support Coordinator, managing a team of 12 Learning Support Assistants who deliver planned support for new and existing students to develop their skills to become independent students and adults of the future.
Mary is pleased to be able to use her skills as a previous optometrist and rehabilitation worker for visually impaired people as a Trustee Governor at New College Worcester.  Mary is no stranger to specialist VI provision,  having taught ILS and Mobility for more than 8 years in a residential setting.   Mary has at different stages been a parent governor and a staff governor in different fields, and feels very welcome in this vibrant community with its holistic approach.
Jesus holds a dual Masters in Civil Engineering, a Diploma for Graduates in Banking and a Masters in Leadership and Strategy. He works as an independent consultant in the financial and energy sectors. He has over 25 years of experience in operational and strategic work with financial and development institutions and has served on the Board of the Rotary Club of Wall Street, and that of a Business School Alumni Chapter in Washington. As the Parent Governor, he wants to contribute his skills to the advancement of the College’s mission and the continuous improvement of the overall experience for its students and other stakeholders.
Noel was born in county Galway in Ireland and arrived in the UK in 1984 as a newly minted chartered accountant.  He has lived in Worcester since January 1985.  Noel set up and ran his own accounting practice for several years, before joining one of his clients, Dolphin Computer Access Limited on a full time basis in 2008. Dolphin is one of the largest developers of assistive technology for people with sight loss in education, the work place and people’s homes.  He is currently CEO of Dolphin and also takes a leading role in the industry worldwide, holding executive positions on national and international trade bodies.  Obviously because of his role he has a special interest in sight loss, but he also holds positions on governing bodies of other specialist schools
Steve is Director of Assistive Technology at Leonard Cheshire, an organisation that supports disabled people. He has led a range of service and product developments over many years in the sector – from the speech system that drives Amazon’s Alexa and Kindle products, to accessible ATM’s and access to TV. He is married with two children and has many interests outside of work – fragrance and coffee roasting being two of them.
  • Karen Holyoak – staff
  • Iain Paul
  • Philippa Simkiss

Associate Governors

  • Nicki Briant